ESSKA-EKA brings together the opinion-leaders in the treatment of degenerative knee. This European pool of expertise aims to:

  • advance the knowledge of degenerative knee pathology and knee arthroplasty
  • provide a milieu for improving both knowledge and treatment of the arthritic knee
  • create the best environment for research
  • promote professional standards, and thereby ensure the best care for patients

Board 2020-2022

Chairman: Michael Hirschmann (Switzerland)
Past Chairman: Nanne Kort (The Netherlands)
Vice-Chairman:Reha Tandogan (Turkey)
Secretary: Bruno Violante (Italy)
Treasurer: Daniel Günther (Germany)
Education: Enrique Gomez Barrena (Spain), Geert Meermans (The Netherlands)
Membership: Michael Liebensteiner (Austria), Octav Russu (Romania)
Research: Antonia Chen (USA), René el Attal (Austria)
Osteotomy: Steffen Schröter (Germany)
Fellowships:Guillaume Demey (France), Pawel Skowronek (Poland)
Social Media: Riccardo Compagnoni (Italy), Trifon Totlis (Greece)
International Societies: Pier Indelli (USA)

European Knee Associates (EKA), a Section of ESSKA, was established in 2010.

2020-2022 Chairman – Michael Hirschmann (Switzerland)
2018-2020 Chairman – Nanne Kort (The Netherlands)
2015-2018 Chairman – Roland Becker (Germany)
2014-2015 Chairman – Johan Bellemans (Belgium)
2012-2014 Chairman – Jean Noël Argenson (France)

2010-2012 Chairman – Ate Wymenga (The Netherlands)