Friend of ESSKA | Library | Print Page | Sign In | Join Us
ESSKA-AOSSM DJO Travelling Fellowship 2019
Tell a Friend About This EventTell a Friend
ESSKA-AOSSM DJO Travelling Fellowship 2019

This is an international exchange programme for promising young orthopaedic surgeons. It is run in collaboration with the American Orthopaedic Society for Sports Medicine Surgery (AOSSM). The chosen Fellows, we believe, will become future leaders in their field, and this fellowship will be their launching-pad, something they will never forget. The purpose of the fellowship is to bring them into contact with the best of their peers, those in another continent.

 Export to Your Calendar 01/07/2019
When: 1 July 2019

Online registration is closed.
« Go to Upcoming Event List  

(every two years)

The three chosen Fellows, accompanied by a ‘godfather’, will travel extensively in the US and Canada for three weeks.

They take part in scientific symposia with their hosts, become familiar with their research facilities and surgical procedures, attend a national sports medicine meeting, and enjoy the local culture.

The Fellowship covers travel, accommodation and minor expenses.

It is sponsored by DJO, whom we thank for their loyal support.

Do you qualify for this fellowship?

To qualify, you must:

  • be a certified orthopaedic in your own country
  • be under 45 at point of application
  • speak English fluently
  • be a European citizen
  • make yourself available for the duration of the Fellowship
  • submit a written report at the end of the programme
  • not have held this fellowship before
  • be an ESSKA member for at least one year before applying

How to apply?

Please use the registration button above. Please note that incomplete application forms will be rejected. By applying/registering for this event you agree that ESSKA may use your contact details for future communications.

When is the deadline?

Your application must be received by 3 June 2018, for the 2019 programme.

Whom should you contact in ESSKA?

For queries and difficulties, please contact

Fellowship report

Here is a report from the ESSKA-AOSSM DJO Travelling Fellowship:

2015 ESSKA-AOSSM DJO Travelling Fellowship

Previous winners of this Fellowship

Godfather: Matteo Denti (Italy/Switzerland)
Thomas Tischer (Germany)
Marcus Hofbauer (Austria)
Guillaume Demey (France)

Godfather: João Espregueira-Mendes (Portugal)
Sebastian Kopf (Germany)
Nicolas Pujol (France)
Christiaan van Bergen (The Netherlands)

Godfather: Niek Van Dijk (The Netherlands)
Nikica Darabos (Croatia)
Nicolas Graveleau (France)
Francesca Vannini (Italy)

Godfather: Jon Karlsson (Sweden)
Mislav Jelic (Croatia)
Olaf Lorbach (Germany)
Sébastien Lustig (France)

Godfather: Lars Engebretsen (Norway)
Elizaveta Kon (Italy)
Elvire Servien (France)
Gino Kerkhoffs (The Netherlands)

Godfather: Daniel Fritschy (Switzerland)
Olivier Charrois (France)
Rainer Siebold (Germany)
Peter Verdonk ( Belgium)

Godfather: Neil P Thomas (UK)
Fabrizio Margheritini (Italy)
Pietro Simone Randelli (Italy)
Ronald van Heerwaarden (The Netherlands)

Godfather: Karl-Peter Benedetto (Austria)
David DeJour (France)
Christian Fink (Austria)
Fredrik Almqvist (Belgium)

Godfather: Pierre Chambat (France)
Gianluca Camillieri (Italy)
Patrick Djian (France)
Romain Seil (Luxembourg)

Godfather: Giancarlo Puddu (Italy)
Michel Bonnin (France)
Johan Bellemans (Belgium)
Jacques Ménétrey (Switzerland)

Godfather: Carlo Fabriciani (Italy)
Philippe Hardy (France)
Nicola Maffulli (UK)

Stefano Zaffagnini (Italy)

Godfather: Rene Verdonk (Belgium)
Meinolf Goertzen (Germany)
Philippe N. Neyret, MD
Ate Wymenga (The Netherlands)

Godfather: Peter Hertel, MD
Niklaus F. Friederich (Switzerland)
J.F. Huylebroek ()
David P. Johnson (UK)

Godfather: Jorgen Lauritzen (Denmark)
Vladmir Bobic ()
Frank Handelberg (Belgium)
Dieter Kohn (Germany)

Godfather: G.P.H. Hermanns ()
Matteo Denti (Switzerland/Italy)
Klaus Lehrberger (Germany)
Albert Van Kampen (The Netherlands)

Godfather: Ejnar Eriksson (Sweden)
Karl P. Benedetto (Austria)
Karin Buttner-Janz ()
Daniel Fritschy (Switzerland)

Godfather: Werner Muller (Switzerland)
Carlo Fabbriciani (Italy)
Jean Luc Rhenter ()
Tonu Saartok (Sweden)

Note: Visa applications do not lie in the field of ESSKA’s power or liability. Therefore all costs and expenses related to or caused by immigration matters remain at the selected Fellow's only charge.


ESSKA Executive Office Luxembourg
Centre Médical - FNM
76, rue d'Eich | L-1460 Luxembourg
Phone: +352 4411 7026 | Fax: +352 4411 7678

Support us

The ESSKA Foundation supports ESSKA education and both national and international research projects in the field of orthopaedic and sports medicine and surgery.