ESSKA Foundation

esskaFoundation logo s1 RVB

Officially established on 13 September 2013

At a ceremony held on 13 September 2013 in Luxembourg, ESSKA President Joao Espregueira-Mendes and Fondation de Luxembourg General Director Tonika Hirdman signed the agreement to officially establish the ESSKA Foundation. 

The ESSKA Foundation was established under the aegis of the Fondation de Luxembourg with the aim to raise the level of care and achieving excellence in the field of orthopedics, especially in sports medicine and degenerative joint disease in Europe, to improve musculoskeletal function and quality of life of patients.

To achieve its mission, the ESSKA Foundation supports ESSKA education and both national and international research projects in the field of orthopedic and sports medicine and surgery with special emphasis on arthroscopy. A committee of five individuals, including three ESSKA representatives, the Director of the Fondation de Luxembourg, and an independent management individual, evaluate the projects and decide on the allocation of financial resources. The former Luxembourg Minister of Economy and Sport Mr Jeannot Krecké currently serves as the independent representative. 

First meeting held on 10 October 2013

The first meeting of the ESSKA Foundation was held on 10 October 2013 in Luxembourg.

The Fondation de Luxembourg was created in December 2008 by the Luxembourg State and the Oeuvre Nationale de Secours Grande-Duchesse Charlotte. Its mission is to promote private philanthropic commitment.

The structure was set up to meet the growing need for a centre of expertise in philanthropy in the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg and to encourage and facilitate philanthropic commitments made by private individuals and/or businesses.

By providing information and advice and by developing specific tools and structures, the Fondation de Luxembourg seeks to encourage, support and guide donors who wish to make a long-term commitment to the development of significant philanthropic projects.

The Board of ESSKA is most appreciative of the support it has received from the Fondation de Luxembourg’s team and look forward to further cooperation the future.

Second meeting held on 10 October 2014

On 10 October 2014, the ESSKA Foundation Management Committee held its second meeting, in the offices of Fondation de Luxembourg.

The committee comprises João Espregueira-Mendes, ESSKA’s Past President, Matteo Denti, ESSKA’s President, Romain Seil, ESSKA’s 1st Vice President, Mr Jeannot Krecké, the former Luxembourg Minister of Economy and Sport as an independent consultant, and Tonika Hirdman, the Director of the Fondation de Luxembourg. Its remit is to oversee our newly established ESSKA Foundation.

The committee was content with progress so far. It re-elected João Espregueira-Mendes as its Chairman, and specified the tasks for the new period, which are:

[ a ] fundraising for the ESSKA Foundation, so as to provide us with a secure financial reserve,

[ b ] investment of the funds already available, so as to ensure a good return and

[ c ] co-ordination with the various EU bodies, to ensure ‘compliance’ and to attract additional funding.

The Foundation funds will be available for ESSKA’s education and prevention programmes.

Additional information about the ESSKA Foundation can be found on the Fondation de Luxembourg's website. 

We use cookies to ensure the best experience on our website. By accepting you agree the use of cookies. OK Learn more